Gamers Unite for a Good Cause!

Click the icon to donate!

If you have seen me on Facebook, Twitter, or the local Honolulu gaming forums for the past couple of weeks, I’m sure you’re well aware of the charity gaming event I’m trying to organize for October 20th.

How it all came about is this:  The station I work for (105.9 KPOI) is teaming up with the Children’s Miracle Network to raise some money with a fun event based around gaming.  The Powers That Be immediately started asking around to all the businesses that deal with video games.  I thought they might be missing something.

I have, deservedly, a reputation around the studios for being a total nerd.  I wear it with pride (and a black shirt with the cover of Amazing Fantasy #15 on it).  So when I was told about the event and given permission to run with it however I thought might work, I decided to bring in the tabletop gaming community that I’m a part of.

There’s generally a great response from all of the war-/board-/clix-/card-gamers for charities (Food-machine, Breast Cancer Brawl, etc.) and I would love to see something locally really pick up steam.

Also, if I’m being totally honest, I need something to keep me busy while I continue to job hunt like a madman as I approach the one-year anniversary of being generally unemployed.

HERE’S THE DETAILS:

  • October 20th, 1-9pm at the Ward Warehouse’s Kakaako Conference Room.
  • Minimum online donation gets to into the games.
  • Prize support for most games being played.
  • Proof of donation gets you 10% off your ENTIRE purchase that day from Other Realms, LLC.
  • 100% of your online donation goes to the Children’s Miracle Network.
  • Please donate before Saturday’s event as it allows for the proof of donation to be received by you for the discount, grants access to the event, and we will be somewhat limited on wifi to accept a lot of donations at the event.

 

Prize support?  YES!  Up for grabs for the 40K players is a Dark Vengeance 2 player starter box; for Warmachine/Hordes, there will be a drawing for a Colossal/Gargantuan of your choice as well as Privateer Press swag like posters and an autographed Hardcover of the Colossals book; and more!

I hope to see you there for gaming and a great cause!

Haz-Matt

Leave a Reply

